Pillow Tutorial – The perfect beginner project

I covered two large Euro shams today from an old vintage table cloth.  I bought this table cloth for $10 at a flea mart in Massachusetts almost 10 years ago.  I just loved it, but I decided that I would get more use out of it by cutting it up.  I wish I knew how old it is since the handy work on it is a lost art.  It only took about 1/4 of the cloth for this project.  I can’t wait to decide what I will do with the rest.

A pillow is the best beginner sewing project.  For those of you who are just getting started, this is the perfect project.

Supply List:

1 yard of fabric, or less (I prefer a heavier decorator fabric, like canvas)

Polyester Fiberfill or a pillowform

1.  Cut 2 pieces of fabric, one inch more than your desired size.  For example my pillow form was 26X26, so I cut my fabric 27X27.  You can alter these instructions to any square size.  Once I cut my front fabric (white fabric), I then used it as a pattern to cut the back fabric (floral fabric).  Since I was making 2 pillows I cut all my fabric out at once.

IMG_4895[1]

2.  Iron fabric and pin right sides together.

IMG_4890[1]

3.  Sew the two pieces together using a 1/2 inch seam allowance.  Be sure to leave a 4 to 5 inch opening in the bottom in order to fill the pillow.  If you are using the pillow form, you will need to make a large opening.  It is very important to backstitch on both sides of your opening.

4.  Clip your corners and turn right side out, being sure to pull out your corners well and Iron flat.

IMG_4891[1]

5.  Insert pillow form or polyester fiberfill.

IMG_4892[1]

6.  Pin the opening closed and topstitch or hand stitch the opening closed.   The Ladder stitch is my favorite stitch because while it is a little time consuming, the finished product is nearly invisible.  Since these pillows were quite large, I decided to just topstitch them closed, although I prefer to close a pillow using the ladder stitch.

IMG_4893[1]

7.  Show off your pillow!  Since I used a coordinating fabric on the back side, I can  them turn them around for a versatile look.   However, if it were up to me, this is the side I would pick.  We will see what my daughter chooses!  By the way, she made the cute bunny on her bed.  I’ll post the tutorial soon!

IMG_4886[1]IMG_4885[2]

One thought on “Pillow Tutorial – The perfect beginner project

Leave a Reply

