Embroidery Project

Embroidery is a wonderful way to make affordable and personalized gifts.  I figured that this would be a great project for my high school embroidery class.  My grandmother had embroidered 2 pillow cases with my name on it when I was in high school.  I still have them, 25 years later, even though you can hardly make out my name from all the washing and drying.   My grandmother embroidered freehand, whereas we have the technology to use the iron on alphabet transfers which makes for a perfect project.

Supplies:

Embroidery Hoop

Pillow case

Embroidery thread

needles

iron on transfers or a disappearing ink pen

IMG_5066[1]

Step 1:

Cut out and iron on transfers one letter at a time.  Be sure to use the directions on the transfer package.

IMG_5067[1]

 

Step 2:  Determine which stitch you will be using.  I used a combination of the satin stitch and the back stitch on this project.

IMG_5068[1]

Step 3:  Compete the project with an embelishment, which adds a pop of color.

IMG_5069[1]

While this project may take a couple of hours to complete, you will be so proud of your end result.  What a great gift!

IMG_5059[1]

 

Leave a Reply

